When can I start fireworks where I live?

CHARLESTON, SC (WCBD) – Did the year-end fireworks start a little earlier in your neighborhood? Many people across the Lowcountry have shared posts online and in community groups after hearing the roar and crackle of fireworks on Christmas Eve and the days after.

Is this allowed? You might be surprised to find that many local municipalities allow fireworks a little more often than you might imagine.

Before you go out and buy a box of fireworks, it’s important to know where you can – and can’t – set off fireworks in the Lowcountry on New Years Eve.

City of North Charleston – Fireworks are legal all year round from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 p.m., and on public holidays such as New Year’s Eve and the 4the July, you can trigger them until 1:00 a.m.

Hanahan City – the triggering of firecrackers is only legal five days a year: Christmas Eve, New Year’s Eve, New Year’s Day and July 4 from 10:00 a.m. to 10:59 p.m.

Town of Mount Pleasant – You can set off fireworks the day before and the day after a holiday from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. in Mount Pleasant and from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. on James Island.

City of Summerville – Residents of the city limits can shoot fireworks every day between 10:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m., and on July 4 and New Year’s Eve between 10:00 a.m. and 1:00 a.m.

Purchase and launch of fireworks in the City of Charleston and on most of the islands is prohibited. This includes Madness Beach, the palm island, Sullivan’s Island, Kiawah Island, Seabrook Island, West Ashley, and the peninsula. You can use sparklers.

Fireworks are permitted between 10:00 a.m. and 1:00 a.m. for July 4 at Dorchester County unincorporated. There are no laws established in Charleston County Unincorporated.

If you are unsure, it is always a good idea to check with your local government or homeowners association before setting off any fireworks.

Previous New updates on winter, snow and cold conditions for Tacoma, WA