Are you still on Elon Musk’s Twitter? How to Avoid or Stop Toxic Conversations


Twitter can be a hotbed of toxic conversations on almost any topic. In the hours after Elon Musk resumed the company, for example, racist messages flooded the site(Opens in a new window). Unless you’ve locked your account, it’s easy for someone to post insulting comments or offensive replies to your tweets, but there are ways to limit these types of interactions.

You can make yourself forget to run away from a conversation that has taken a bad turn; limit who can reply to any of your tweets; create a Twitter circle to limit a tweet to specific followers; or limit a tweet to specific Twitter communities you’ve joined.

You can also block specific accounts so they can’t follow you or message you. Additionally, you can report a tweet that you believe violates Twitter’s guidelines. Let’s check all your options.


Block or deactivate an account

By manually blocking an account on Twitter, you prevent their tweets from appearing in your timeline and prevent them from seeing your activity on the site. Users will know if you block their account when they visit your page. To avoid this, disabling them will remove their tweets from your timeline, but won’t limit their access to your tweets. For either option, click the ellipsis icon next to the account name or one of its tweets. From the menu, select Mute Where To block. If you choose to block the account, you will be asked to confirm your action.

View blocked accounts

To manage the accounts you have currently hidden or blocked, go to More > Settings & Support > Settings & Privacy > Privacy & Security > Disable & Block. Select Blocked accounts to view them, where you can choose to unblock an account. Select Hidden accounts to view them, where you have the option to reactivate an account.


Report an account

Report an account

You can also report an account to Twitter if you think a user is too toxic to stay on the platform. Click the ellipsis icon next to the account and select Report. Follow the reporting process to note who is being targeted by the account and the type of behavior you are reporting.

If Twitter finds your report valid and substantiated, the account could be removed from the site. However, the account in question will most likely remain and you will simply be asked to block it.


How to deny yourself

Leave the conversation

You’re stuck in a Twitter conversation that’s become toxic or pointless, and you don’t want to be part of it anymore. Do not mention yourself allows you to leave this conversation so that other participants can no longer reply to you or tag your account. To perform this action, press the ellipsis button to the right of any answer and select Leave this conversation.

Confirm that you want to leave the conversation

A popup explains that when leaving a conversation, your username will still appear in the conversation but will be detached from the original tweet and any replies. People won’t be able to mention you again in that conversation. You’ll also stop receiving notifications of any other replies (but you’ll still be able to see the conversation). If you agree with all this, click on Leave this conversation.


Limit who can reply to your tweets

Click the link so everyone can respond

By default, anyone on Twitter can reply to a tweet you post. But in some cases you might want limit who can answer. Before posting a tweet, click the Anyone can answer link and change this option to People you follow Where Only people you mention.

Choose Only people you mention

If you choose Only people you mention, then take a moment to tag the people you want to be able to reply to. When you post a tweet set to People you follow Where Only people you mention, the reply icon will be grayed out for anyone who doesn’t belong to any of the categories. However, even those who can’t reply will still be able to view, retweet, quote retweet, share and like your tweet.


Limit a tweet to a Twitter circle

Create a Twitter Circle

A Twitter Circle is a subset of followers for which you can limit specific tweets. You can create your circle if you click on the Everybody button “What’s going on?” ” field. Find the Twitter Circle option in the menu and select the option Edit link.

Add an account

You can then add users to the group. Click it Recommended header to see a list of people following you, then select the people you want to add. Otherwise, you can simply search by account name. Click it To add next to a specific account to put them in your Twitter circle.

Review the accounts you've added

When you’re done, click the Twitter Circle header to review the accounts you’ve added. Click on Remove for any accounts you decide you don’t want in your circle. Click it X to close the Twitter Circle window and return to Twitter.

Set option to Twitter Circle

Now when you go to tweet, select Everybody and make sure it is set to Twitter Circle. When you post your tweet, only people in your circle will be able to see or reply to your tweet.

Recommended by our editors


Select the Twitter community

A Twitter community(Opens in a new window) is a group of people on Twitter who share a common interest, personal, professional or otherwise. You can create your own Twitter community and invite others to it, or join a community run by someone else. Then you can then limit a tweet to a specific community.

When you are going to write your tweet, click on the Everybody and select the Twitter community you want to direct the tweet to. When you send your tweet, only people in that community will see it and be able to reply to it.


Tweet privately to your followers only

Protect your account

Don’t want random accounts talking to you? Make your account private to limit your audience to only accounts that follow you. Do this by going to More > Settings & Support > Settings & Privacy > Privacy & Security > Audience & Tagging. Check the box for Protect your Tweets.

A notification explains that protecting your account will hide your previous tweets. To confirm this action, check the box next to Protect my account. After protecting your account, your past and future tweets will only be visible to your followers.

Make your tweets public again

Also, people won’t be able to retweet your tweets or follow your account without your approval. Your tweets won’t appear in external search engines, such as Google, but they may be searched on Twitter by your followers. If someone tries to view your account, they’ll see a message that your tweets are protected.


Block an account with safe mode

Block an account with safe mode

(Credit: Twitter)

Security mode is a feature that temporarily blocks accounts for seven days for using potentially harmful language or sending repetitive, uninvited replies or mentions. When this feature is enabled for your account, Twitter analyzes the content of incoming tweets, as well as the sender’s account, to determine if a specific tweet should be blocked.

Safe Mode hasn’t rolled out to everyone globally yet, so you may or may not want to enable it for your account. To see if it’s available, go to More > Settings & Support > Settings & Privacy > Privacy & Security. If Safe Mode appears, check the box to enable it.

Tips & Tricks newsletter for expert advice to get the most out of your technology.","first_published_at":"2021-09-30T21:23:24.000000Z","published_at":"2022-08-31T18:37:00.000000Z","last_published_at":"2022-08-31T18:36:55.000000Z","created_at":null,"updated_at":"2022-08-31T18:37:00.000000Z"})" x-show="showEmailSignUp()" class="rounded bg-gray-lightest text-center md:px-32 md:py-8 p-4 mt-8 container-xs">

Do you like what you read ?

Register for Tips & Tricks newsletter for expert advice on how to get the most out of your technology.

This newsletter may contain advertisements, offers or affiliate links. Subscribing to a newsletter indicates your consent to our Terms of use and Privacy Policy. You can unsubscribe from newsletters at any time.

Previous Don't necessarily trust the first phone number that pops up in your online search – NBC Connecticut
Next Disruption and recovery of the nasal microbiome after mupirocin treatment in carriers and non-carriers of Staphylococcus aureus